top of page

Four Generations in Ballarat

What an amazing challenge this was...when Bruce Roberts first contacted me about the possibility of creating a piece of artwork for his family, I didn't fully appreciate the amount of trust he was placing in me to create something out of a series of cherished historic photos of his family. Each of the last 4 generations were represented by a building (primarily a shop) and the people who owned and operated them. Through the process it was decided that one piece of artwork was to become 4, one for each generation - I hope you like the story they tell. I have included the testimonial from Bruce below as I get the impression he and his family were pleased with the result!

Testimonial:

'...While historical family photos are so important, being entrusted with the originals is a dual-edged sword; it's extremely special to be the caretaker but how do you share these unique artefacts with other family members? I asked Shadowline Studio's Kate Moore for help with this dilemma and her solution was breathtaking. Four generations of my family were painstakingly crafted into unique pieces of artwork. Kate's detailed approach to the composition of the pieces was extremely thorough, providing a result with a factual but deeply moving meaning. She sent through proofs for approval, to then only hours later stun me with a second or third option filled with greater vibrancy and finesse. My siblings and parents have been deeply moved by Kate's artwork... A treasure for now, to be shared and loved by all into the future...'

- Bruce Roberts, Ballarat

Here are some of the original photos so you appreciate the project from a different angle:

bottom of page